Glasses!

So this last time I was in Tibet, I took along a video camera and while shooting I was holding it at shoulder level to steady it and I suddenly realized that I could not make out the LCD screen! Ahh! I rationalized it in my mind, it must just be the elevation, the dust or I was tired etc etc. Then a couple weeks ago my phone rang at 2 am I picked it up off the night stand and realized that I had to hold the phone about a foot away from my face so that I could read the incoming number. Again I rationalized that one away as well, but lets be honest the Motorola Q has a 2 x 1.5 inch screen so it is clearly visible! Then I noticed I was having a problem reading, looking at my hand, looking at a vitamin bottle…

I went to the eye doctor (first time I have ever done that) which is same doctor that Christi uses and it just so turns out we have almost exactly the same prescription. I think my glasses arrive today, wow I will be reading with glasses, damn! 

The photo was taken in Ga Hai Tibet a couple years ago, a friend of mine had brought some 200 pairs of drugstore type reading glasses in varying prescriptions and was checking the peoples eyes and giving the glasses away to those who needed them.

4 Responses to “Glasses!”

  1. jonny-ri Says:

    you get a comment for this one. nice detail on the wrinkles.

  2. Christian Kaysen Says:

    Wow. If this is what you dug up then I bet you have some pretty amazing stuff I haven’t seen yet. Nice detail and tone.

    I share your pain. I’ve been wearing glasses since I was 7. You’re lucky you don’t need them 24/7. Good luck with adjusting!

  3. Adam Says:

    I can’t wait to see how old they make you look.

  4. jurgenbrusselaers Says:

    Nice picture. Respect!

Leave a Reply

