Super Tuesday

cbus.jpg
csign.jpg
oposter.jpgowatch.jpgocrowd.jpgobalcony.jpg
So I had to shoot 35 mm Black & White film for my documentary class assignment.
Tuesday a.m. I went to the market and bought a couple of newspapers to see what? If anything might be taking place in the OC area that I could go photograph and was a little surprised by the fact that since the Nixon Presidential Library is 2 blocks from here and we are “the heart of conservatism” that there was no activities for the Republicans except a watch party at a local Irish bar for McCain that did not start until 8 that night and I needed to gather images in the light since I was using ASA 125 film. Also I had never used this particular camera before, so I was not ready to experiment for an assignment I have to turn in. But it turned out that both Obama & Clinton had headquarters locally so I showed up at the Clinton campaign headquarters in Santa Ana with my gear and said I was here to shoot. They were happy to have me and sent me out with their “Visibility & Greet” people. Which equates to just that, being visible and greeting everyone they meet and asking them if they have voted? Would they vote Hillary? In this case 95% of the conversations took place in Spanish. So I spent 4 hours hanging out with some highly motivated and fun people. I heard a lot of interesting takes on life in the USA as an immigrant as well. After I was finished up with the Clinton folks, I bought some lunch at a Salvadorian restaurant that Christi & I frequent in Santa Ana, at the end of the meal I spotted some Obama supporter carrying signs and banners down the street so I followed them to the their headquarters and said the same “I am here to photograph” Oh I am sorry was the response, we are shutting down in a bit and heading out to the big watch party in Los Angeles. No problem I told her and started to leave, she said “wait would you like to go?” no it is a little out of my way, “I can give you a press pass to photograph there as well” Ok deal, where is it going to be… So I had to go buy some different film for a indoor dark event. I could only find ASA 400 B+W film, hopefully that will be fast enough (I have not had the chance to get to the labs to develop anything yet) When I got to the Avalon Theater in LA a lady with lots of gear walked up to the press entrance with exactly the same credentials I had in my pocket and they said “NOPE! go pound sand”. Crap! I changed my plans and decided to infiltrate instead. So I walked to a obvious news photographer and started a conversation about his Tamrac camera bag, because I could not think of anything else to talk about. He got to the head of the line and handed over an ID card that said he belonged to the really big boys and should be there or for that matter, anything news event. I continued to engage him in conversation while holding up the line for everyone else until the person checking ID’s thought I was with him and said “would you get the f*** in the door, your holding up the line!”
That is how I spent my Election Tuesday.

Now if my film turns out, I will be happy!

2 Responses to “Super Tuesday”

  1. Holly Says:

    I totally would have carried out the same subversive tactic….although being smaller makes it easier to “sneak” by those checking ID’s. Wait…does that sound like I’ve done it before? Hmm….only to get by New York Police to get into a sold out championship baseball game 🙂

  2. kaysenphoto Says:

    Wow! Busy day huh? How many rolls did you shoot in all? Fingers crossed for the developing!

Leave a Reply

