Nomads Here & Afar

Today is one of those days that I woke up thinking maybe working in construction or a grocery store would be a better option, 20 years of task oriented work and then retirement…

Wondering whether or not any of the photos or stories I have even make a difference, I have been mopey because because I have not had to hassle with customs, airlines and 3rd world inconveniences (joys) in a while and I crave an adventure.

A lot of you know that I really would like to tell the complete story of the Circuit Riders through photos & words, from the back of a bike myself. But the logistics of mounting a story about nomads in the USA is posing too be far far more difficult than doing the same 12,000 miles away in the middle of nowhere, in countries where I do not fluently speak the language!

Then this morning I notice a copy of Free Tibet Magazine in the mail pile and opened it up to see one of my photos as the main story, I feel a little better, a little.
Here is their Site and a link to a gallery of mine on their site.

– the shot was taken at a Tibetan school near Zeku Tibet

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Nomads Here & Afar”

  1. Holly Says:

    I love your gallery of photos….it makes me long for life in another country…i get a bit antsy when I’m not able to venture out too. I used to tell myself that I need to use my passport at least once a year. My…how things have changed! I hope to get back to that once a year rule soon. Hope you are able to get back to Tibet soon too. Your photos are amazing.

  2. Nelson González Leal Says:

    Well, I congratulate you on this achievement! I still live photography and I have to work in other areas to support me. I’ve done some work has appeared in non-profit cultural magazines. Now I have decided to take the path of professional photography. To see how it goes with this!

  3. anuvue studio Says:

    There are stories to be told all around you. Make the most of what there is within your reach. You have only to open your eyes to what surrounds you. Creativity comes when finally taking notice of something that was already here.

    Congratulations on your photo Jim.

  4. Jia Says:

    Hi Jim,
    I found your blog via your website via, again, the gallery displayed on the Free Tibet website.

    I, also took a trip to Tibet this July and it changed my life like I thought it would. Absolutely adore your photos and was wondering if you had Flickr?
    Mine is: http://www.flickr.com/juicyprinter (also! with 300+ unorganized photos in Tibet)
    would love to be pals with you there.

    All the best,
    thank you for creating the work.

    Jia

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

